Natural Remedies for Colds, Flu, & Congestion

SneezingCold and flu season is upon us. I believe in being proactive and not reactive, and their are herbs that you can take daily to boost your immune system. I’m only going to list the remedies that I’ve personally taken that worked for me. I am always willing to try a natural method for healing ailments.

The Dynamic Duo
I can personally attest to the power of the dynamic duo, Echinacea & Goldenseal. I take the extract, and when I feel  congestion, sore throat, or any symptoms of illness or allergy, I take the combined Echinacea and Goldenseal, and I usually feel relief from ailments within 24 hours. I continue to take it for another week. For preventive maintenance, I take a couple of doses for two weeks in each month.

Echinacea and Goldenseal combined have powerful immune enhancing, congestion reducing, and anti-inflammatory action. They are both great to take for colds, flu, fever, infections, congestion, and respiratory problems.

Echniacea’s anti-inflammatory elements help to boost your immune system, increasing your bodies defenses against bad agents that cause illness by increasing the amount of white blood cells in your body. The white blood cells (phagocytes) protect us from disease and illness by devouring harmful bacteria. Echinacea comes in liquid extract, pill or capsule, and from the ground root. A dose is 30 to 50 drops of the liquid extract, two capsules, or four to eight ounces of strong tea.  

Goldenseal is very effective for infections. It soothes your mucous membranes in the respiratory, digestive, and urinary tract. So Goldenseal helps congestion, and it also has antibiotic and immune stimulating activities.

To be proactive, and keep illnesses away, take the Dynamic Duo two to three times daily for one to two weeks each month, especially during cold, flu, and allergy months. When you feel illness rooting, take Echinacea every two hours until you feel relief from some of your symptoms. Then reduce the dose to three times daily for a week to ensure that you fully recover. Take Goldenseal every two hours, and then after 72 hours, take it three times daily for two weeks.

The Holy Basil
Tulsi, also called Holy Basil is a sacred healing tea from India lauded for it’s three-fold ability to heal. It is both stimulating and restorative. It bolsters immunity, stamina, and metabolism while relieving stress. It helps to dispel toxins, improve digestion, and regulate blood pressure and blood suger. It reduces stress with an adaptogen, which is an agent that aids the body in adapting to stress. Tulsi has an immuno-modulator that balances and enhances your body’s immune response to antigen. It also has antioxidants that stall the process of excess oxidation.

I drink Tulsi tea every morning. The benefits are subtle, but they are there. I’m not as tired as I used to be and my digestion has improved fantasticly.

I am not suggesting that you abandon your prescription medications. I’m just sharing with you some natural remedies that help me. The Dynamic Duo and the Holy Basil work!

*Disclamer: Consult your doctor or physician before taking unprescribed substances. Conduct your own research. The Leisure Living Blog is not responsible for adverse reactions to the natural remedies listed in this article.

One response to “Natural Remedies for Colds, Flu, & Congestion

  1. Thanks again for the crystalized ginger you gave me on our visit. I stick to megadoses of Vitamin C, Zinc and Echinacea when I feel a cold coming on or to reduce the symptoms when I do get one. That works pretty good for me.